"I want to thank the Arms Control Association … for being such effective advocates for sensible policies to stem the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, and most importantly, reduce the risk of nuclear war."
– Senator Joe Biden
January 28, 2004
About the Arms Control Association

Arms Control Today

The Arms Control Association, founded in 1971, is a national nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to promoting public understanding of and support for effective arms control policies.

Through its public education and media programs and its magazine, Arms Control Today, we provide policy-makers, the press and the interested public with authoritative information, analysis and commentary on arms control proposals, negotiations and agreements, and related national security issues. In addition to the regular press briefings the Arms Control Association holds on major arms control developments, the staff provides commentary and analysis on a broad spectrum of issues for journalists and scholars both in the United States and abroad.

Reporters: If you are interested in contacting one of our experts, please contact Tony Fleming, director for communications, at [email protected] or (202) 463-8270, ext. 110.


Washington, DC Office

1200 18th St NW, Suite 1175
Washington, DC, 20036
Tel (202) 463-8270

Daryl G. Kimball
Executive Director

Jeff Abramson
Senior Fellow

Shannon Bugos
Research Assistant

Kelsey Davenport
Director for Nonproliferation Policy

Tony Fleming
Director for Communications and Operations

Allen Harris
Graphic Designer & Production Editor

Michael Klare
Senior Visiting Fellow

Julia Masterson
Research Assistant

Merle Lee Newkirk
Finance Officer

Kingston Reif
Director for Disarmament and
Threat Reduction Policy

Rachel Paik
Administrative and Member Relations Assistant

Kathy Crandall Robinson
Chief Operations Officer

Greg Webb
Editor, Arms Control Today

Board of Directors


Thomas Countryman, Chair
Paul Walker, Vice Chair
Christine Wing, Treasurer
Michael Klare, Secretary


Lilly Adams
Matthew Bunn
Susan Burk
Leland Cogliani
William R. "Russ" Colvin
Philip Coyle
Deborah Fikes
Deborah C. Gordon
Bonnie Jenkins
Angela Kane
Laura Kennedy
Maryann Cusimano Love
Zia Mian
Randy Rydell
Rachel Stohl
Greg Thielmann
Andrew Weber

Directors Emeritus

Avis Bohlen
Maj. Gen. William Burns (USA, Ret.)
William Coleman, Jr.
Ralph Earle II
Richard L. Garwin
Bg. Gen. Gregory G. Govan, (USA, Ret.)
J. Bryan Hehir
Thomas Hughes
John Isaacs
Catherine Kelleher
James F. Leonard
Jack Mendelsohn
Hazel R. O'Leary
Lt. Gen. Robert Pursley (USAF, Ret.)