"I salute the Arms Control Association … for its keen vision of the goals ahead and for its many efforts to identify and to promote practical measures that are so vitally needed to achieve them."

– Amb. Nobuyasu Abe
Former UN Undersecretary General for Disarmament Affairs
January 28, 2004
North Korea's Fourth Nuclear Test: A Wake Up Call

Arms Control NOW

On Jan. 6, North Korea conducted its fourth underground nuclear weapons test explosion. The government in Pyongyang claims it conducted a successful test that “scientifically verified the power” of a small hydrogen bomb. The statement claims that the test signifies a “higher stage” of development of North Korea’s nuclear force.

Initial readings from seismic stations in the region, however, strongly suggest the yield of the blast was slightly smaller than the February 2013 nuclear test. According to the Vienna-based Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO), the “initial location estimate” of the seismic activity shows that the event took place in the area of North Korea’s nuclear test site, Punggye-ri, which is located in the northeast of the country. The test has been universally condemned as a threat to international peace and security and a violation of the global taboo against nuclear testing.

Read more on the fourth North Korean nuclear test from the Arms Control Association...

Key statements on North Korea's Jan. 6 nuclear test explosion:

Executive Secretary Lassina Zerbo, Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization Media Stakeout (video)

Director of the International Data Centre Randy Bell, Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization Media Stakeout (video)

Executive Secertary Lassina Zerbo, Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization-United Nations Press Conference (video)

Security Council Press Statement on Nuclear Test Conducted by Democratic People's Republic of Korea

United Nations Security Council Japanese Representative Motohide Yoshikawa (video)

United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon

International Atomic Energy Agency Director-General Yukiya Amano

European Union High Representative Federica Mogherini

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Foreign Secretary of the United Kingdom

Secretary of State of the United States of America

Russian Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Maria Zakharov

Ministry of External Affairs of the Government of India