"The Arms Control Association’s work is an important resource to legislators and policymakers when contemplating a new policy direction or decision."

– General John Shalikashvili
former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff
Seeking Nominations: Arms Control Person(s) of the Year

Arms Control NOW

By Jeff Abramson

The Arms Control Association seeks nominations for its annual Arms Control Person(s) of the Year competition.

Past winners include: Senator Richard Lugar (R-Ind.) (2009), Norway's Foreign Minister Jonas Gahr Støre and his ministry's Director-General for Security Policy and the High North Steffen Kongstad (2008), and U.S. Congressmen Peter Visclosky (D-Ind.) and David Hobson (R-Ohio) (2007).

In a year that featured the signing of a new strategic arms treaty, entry into force of a major conventional arms treaty, an unprecedented nuclear security summit, consensus at the NPT review conference, an 11 year-old mine victim catalyzing his country (Israel) to consider removing the weapons, and much more, there will be many great nominees.

Please make your suggestion by the end of this week by posting a comment to this entry. Nominations should include:

- Name of individual(s) or group(s) being nominated.

- One or two sentence rationale for nomination.

- Link to relevant online resource.

Please see past years' competitions for examples and thanks for your suggestions. (Note comments are moderated and will not immediately be posted. Nominations can be emailed to jeff at armscontrol dot org, but we'd be happy to see a bit of discussion here on the blog.)