Brazil Moves to Join CTBT, NPT

June/July 1998

Brazil deposited its instrument of ratification for the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) on July 24 and the Brazilian legislature ratified the nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) on July 13. Brazil is expected to formally deposit its instrument of accession for the NPT in the next few weeks.

Brazil is among the 44 states whose ratification is required for the CTBT's entry into force. Eight other such states (Australia, Austria, Britain, France, Japan, Peru, Slovakia and Spain) have already deposited their instruments of ratification. As of the end of July, the CTBT has been signed by 150 states and ratified by 17.

Brazil will become the 186th state to accede to the NPT, leaving only four states (Cuba, India, Israel and Pakistan) outside of the regime.