Vote for the 2011 Arms Control Person(s) of the Year

For decades, the Arms Control Association has promoted practical solutions to address the dangers posed by the world's most dangerous weapons.

Every year since 2007, ACA's staff has nominated several individuals and institutions that best exemplify leadership and action in pursuing effective arms control solutions.

Each, in their own way, has provided the leadership necessary to help reduce the threats posed by some of the world's most dangerous weapons.

The Arms Control Association invites you to cast your vote (one per person) for the 2011 Arms Control Person(s) of the Year.

The vote closed on January 3. Click here for results.

The nominees are:

  • Indonesian Foreign Minister Marty Natalegawa and the Indonesian Parliament's coordinator for the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) ratification Hemly Fauzy for leading the effort to win their nation's approval of the Treaty and reducing the number ratifications necessary for CTBT entry into force from 9 to 8.
  • International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Director-General Yukiya Amano for providing the IAEA Board of Governors with his detailed November 2011 report on Iran's nuclear activities and repeated efforts to seek clarification from Iran about possible weapons-related activities identified by the Agency's experts.
  • Sen. Tom Coburn (R-Oklahoma) for highlighting the significant cost savings to U.S. taxpayers that could be achieved by trimming and deferring programs to "modernize" U.S. strategic nuclear delivery systems over the coming decade.
  • The Government of Nigeria for becoming the 17th state to successfully clear its territory of landmines as called for by the Mine Ban Treaty, which forbids the use, stockpiling, production, and transfer of victim-activated anti-personnel mines.
  • The Foreign Ministers of Australia, Canada, Chile, Germany, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, Poland, Turkey, and the United Arab Emirates, for their 10 nation "Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Initiative." At their April meeting in Berlin, they called for accelerated progress in eliminating nuclear weapons and outlined a plan of action.
  • Sen. Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), and Rep. Jim McGovern (D-Mass.) for introducing legislation in the U.S. Congress to block the sale of $53 million in U.S. arms to Bahrain pending confirmation from the U.S. Secretary of State that Bahrain has taken a series of specific steps to improve human rights.
  • The Board of Directors of the National Association of Evangelicals, which represents more than 45,000 U.S. churches from over 40 different denominations, for approving a resolution that calls for further nuclear weapons cuts greater protection of fissile material, and ratification of the CTBT, among other actions.

Click here to see results.


Past winners of the "Arms Control Person of the Year" are: Kazakhstan's Deputy Foreign Minister Kairat Umarov and Thomas D'Agostino, U.S. National Nuclear Security Administration Administrator (2010); Senator Richard Lugar (R-Ind.) (2009 ), Norway's Foreign Minister Jonas Gahr Støre and his ministry's Director-General for Security Policy and the High North Steffen Kongstad (2008), and U.S. Congressmen Peter Visclosky (D-Ind.) and David Hobson (R-Ohio) (2007).

If you find the Arms Control Association's resources and work of value, please consider making a contribution online right now.

Our continued efforts-and progress on arms control in the years ahead- depend on the support of individuals like you.

# # #

The Arms Control Association (ACA) is an independent, membership-based organization dedicated to providing information and practical policy solutions to address the dangers posed by the world's most dangerous weapons. ACA publishes the monthly journal, Arms Control Today.