"...the Arms Control Association [does] so much to keep the focus on the issues so important to everyone here, to hold our leaders accountable to inspire creative thinking and to press for change. So we are grateful for your leadership and for the unyielding dedication to global nuclear security."

– Lord Des Browne
Vice Chairman, Nuclear Threat Initiative
October 20, 2014
About the Arms Control Association

The Arms Control Association, founded in 1971, is a national nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to promoting public understanding of and support for effective arms control policies.

Through its public education and media programs and its magazine, Arms Control Today, we provide policy-makers, the press and the interested public with authoritative information, analysis and commentary on arms control proposals, negotiations and agreements, and related national security issues. In addition to the regular press briefings the Arms Control Association holds on major arms control developments, the staff provides commentary and analysis on a broad spectrum of issues for journalists and scholars both in the United States and abroad.

Reporters: If you are interested in contacting one of our experts, please contact Tony Fleming, director for communications, at [email protected] or (202) 463-8270, ext. 110.


Washington, DC Office

1200 18th St NW, Suite 1175
Washington, DC, 20036
Tel (202) 463-8270

Daryl G. Kimball
Executive Director

Kathy Crandall Robinson
Chief Operating Officer

Kelsey Davenport
Director for Nonproliferation Policy

Shannon Bugos
Senior Policy Analyst

Tony Fleming
Director for Communications and Operations

Carol Giacomo
Chief Editor, Arms Control Today

Allen Harris
Graphic Designer & Production Editor

Julia Masterson
Research Associate

Leanne Quinn
Program Assistant,
Chemical Weapons Convention Coalition

Paul Walker
Chemical Weapons Convention Coalition

Michael Klare
Senior Visiting Fellow

Jeff Abramson
Senior Fellow

Merle Lee Newkirk
Finance Officer

Board of Directors


Christine Wing, Acting Chair/Treasurer
Paul Walker, Vice Chair
Michael Klare, Secretary


Lilly Adams
Matthew Bunn
Susan Burk
Leland Cogliani
William R. "Russ" Colvin
Deborah Fikes
Deborah C. Gordon
Angela Kane
Laura Kennedy
Maryann Cusimano Love
Zia Mian
Randy Rydell
Rachel Stohl
Greg Thielmann
Andrew Weber

Thomas Countryman (on leave)

Directors Emeritus

Avis Bohlen
Maj. Gen. William Burns (USA, Ret.)
Richard L. Garwin
Bg. Gen. Gregory G. Govan, (USA, Ret.)
J. Bryan Hehir
Thomas Hughes
John Isaacs
Amb. Bonnie Jenkins
Catherine Kelleher
Jack Mendelsohn
Hazel R. O'Leary
Lt. Gen. Robert Pursley (USAF, Ret.)